SANTA CLARA COUNTY REGIONAL SUMMIT

Strategizing Solutions for Safer Rides

FRIDAY, DECEMBER 11, 2026 | 8:30 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

Breakfast & Lunch Provided

353 Julian Street, San Jose, CA


We Look Forward to Seeing You at Santa Clara County’s E-Bike Strategy Summit!

[WELCOME NOTE(S) FROM SUPERVISOR]

[WELCOME NOTE(S) FROM SCCPH LEADERSHIP]



WHAT’S MISSING IN EVERYONE’S CURRENT EFFORTS?

TAKE THE SURVEY

THE 3 LEGAL E-BIKE CLASSES

View and Download the Flyer

California’s three legal e-bike classes can be easy to confuse, yet the distinctions matter for policy, enforcement, education, and community planning. For a quick overview of Class 1, Class 2, and Class 3 e-bikes, see the flyer to your left.

Then, fill out the quick form below and click the button to receive a free downloadable copy to keep and share. By providing your email address, you’ll also be subscribed to the Powered Periodical, the Bellemont Project’s newsletter featuring updates, resources, and perspectives on e-bike and e-moto safety. You can unsubscribe at any time.


Test your knowledge with 8 quick questions…

Think of the answer to each question, then click the arrow to see the correct response.

Class 2.

You might think this is a trick question! Classes 1 and 3 can only have a walk-assist “throttle” or button that allows you to walk the bike up hills.

750 Watts

20 mph

28 mph

3.7 mph (Don’t miss that decimal point!)

No

California State law requires a Class 3 e-bike rider to be at least 16 years old.

No

All classes of legal e-bikes require functional pedals. That is, they should help propel the bike when used.

The motor is limited to 750-Watts, the top powered speed is 20 mph, and the pedals function to help riders propel their e-bikes.

FUN FACT: Many riders with health-related challenges, such as diabetes, arthritis, or asthma, can ride more safely on a legal Class 2 e-bike, which allows them to control their experience with a combination of pedaling and throttle use. They can keep up with friends and family!


WHAT WOULD YOU LIKE TO KNOW?

Submit your e-bike safety question here, and we’ll provide an expert answer. Bookmark this page to read our reply.

  • What kind of helmet should I wear with a Class 3 e-bike?
  • For riding a legal Class 3 e-bike—which provides pedal assistance up to 28 mph—safety experts and testing organizations strongly recommend helmets rated to the NTA 8776 standard rather than traditional bicycle helmets.
  • Get your question answered here.

SUMMIT PRESENTERS

Beth Black
Gwen Froh
Clint Sandusky
Dr. Preeti Panda
Dr. Kevin Kwan
Bob Mittelstaedt

SIGN UP FOR THE NEWSLETTER

Our Newsletter

By entering your email, you agree to receive our newsletter. You can unsubscribe at any time


WHAT YOU’RE UP AGAINST

Credit: Ultra Ryder
Credit: Ultra Ryder
Credit: Ultra Ryder


Don’t Miss these brief influencer video clips:

Stop by soon for additional video links!